Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous

I'm still a sinner…so I can't post on the thread.

But, there's a review of micro-CHP in Building for a Future Vol. 13 No. 3, which mentions the Whisper machine.

I can find a link if you need it,

Peter.

Andy Mitchell
        Participant

Oh, and I have no special knowledge of this topic so can't contribute in either forum!!

Anonymous

I have no special knowledge either, and can really only summarize bits of the article alluded to (link:

http://www.newbuilder.co.uk/bffmag/winter03/13_3%20Cover_story.pdf

-there are other bits on mCHP in the same issue as well).

The idea of mCHP is that people have their own units which generate both heat and electricity. One difficulty is in balancing the two, and with the current size of units proposed, you seem to need an additional boiler (which the units incorporat, but they're not 95% efficient condensing boilers, but only 75% efficient ones).

A second difficulty is involved with selling any excess electricity back to the grid (or at least getting paid for doing so).

A third problem might be expected lifetime. I don't think that there's really much experience to go on here, but the calculations were something like 3 – 7 years, which doesn't sound great to me.

A 4th problem might be EMF fields in the home (from the stirling engine generating your electricity). Is there a way of shielding this?

A 5th problem, is that they run off natural gas (the mCHP ones, not the larger ones). Calculations suggest that there should be a saving on the amount of gas used, but it's still non-renewable gas which you're using, not, say, woodchip. Still, perhaps after 7 years when your current model has conked out they'll be a biomass one.